I guess I’m not the only one who wanted to write about average shot length in Sicario’s border crossing scene

emily blunt kate mercer sicario

Two days ago I was doing a little time killing and whatever algorithm YouTube uses to recommend a slightly different version of something I’ve already seen – no thanks, I don’t need to watch the ending of Rushmore again but with Spanish subtitles – actually presented me with something interesting: Cinefix’s latest video essay entitled “1 Brilliant Moment of Tension.”

I’ve watched and enjoyed Cinefix’s videos before, but they’re usually more clickbait than analysis.  This one, however, is different in that it covers one technique from one scene from one film.  In this case, it’s “tension,” “border crossing,” and “Sicario.”

It was somewhat surreal to see them talk about a lot of the things I did in my breakdown of the average shot lengths used in the aforementioned border crossing scene, and how playing with them allowed the filmmakers to manipulate tension.  Illustrated visually rather than in boring text form, it looks like this:

I’m not shopping for intellectual property attorneys or anything (ironic, as I had to replace the original YouTube video of the border crossing due to IP concerns).  ASL is just one part of Cinefix’s analysis, and I think their video does a better job explaining why Sicario is so tense than my post did.  Just saying that despite their video’s 213000 views and 6600 likes, my post with 69 views and 2 likes was there first.

Leave a Reply

